April 17, 2021

Daniel K/TnTv Network

The Senate on Tuesday received a formal request for the confirmation of 11 nominees as Judges of the Federal High Court of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). 

The request was contained in a letter read on the floor during plenary by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan. 
The letter reads: “In accordance to Section 256(2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed names of eleven (11) nominees as Judges of the High Court of the FCT, Abuja.
The nominees are: 

President of the Senate Ahmad Lawan

Abubakar Husseini Musa (Adamawa State); 

Edward Okpe (Benue State);

Babashani Abubakar (Borno State);

Emuesiri Francis (Delta State);

Jude Ogho (Delta State); 

Josephine Enobi (Edo State);

Christopher Opeyemi Oba (Ekiti State); 

Mohammed Idris (Kano State);

Hassan Maryam Aliyu (Kebbi State);

Fashola Akeem Adebowale (Lagos State); and 

Hamza Muazu (Niger State).

The Minority Whip, Senator Philip Aduda, while relying on Order 43 of the Senate Standing Rules objected to the absence of a nominee from the FCT.

While, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele (APC – Ekiti Central), coming under the same point of order, explained to the contrary that the FCT already has Judges on the bench of the FCT High Court. 

Chairman Senate C’ttee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele

“What is being done by the National Judicial Council at the moment is to fill existing vacancies on the bench of the FCT Judiciary.

“What will become an issue is if you take list of the over 40 Judges of the FCT and any particular state is missing, that is when it becomes an issue. 

“A major criterion is to ensure that states that do not have anybody on the bench are given priority. I just wanted to clarify that FCT has Judges on the bench of the FCT”, the lawmaker explained. 

Related Posts